2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated Sep 12, 2015.

Bmw I3 Hybrid Power Train problems and reviews: 4.

Are you driving a 2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Orinda, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Power Train
Speed 50

I Was Driving My bmw I3 Rex From The San Francisco Bay Area To The Beach Near Santa Cruz Via Highway 17 With My Wife And Two Children. Getting To The Beach From Most Of The Sf Bay Area Requires Driving Over Some Coastal Hills. As I Approached The Hills, My Ev Battery Was Very Low. The I3 With “rex” (similar To The Chevy Volt) Has A Gasoline Engine That Activates When The Main Ev Battery Is Depleted. In These Hills, The Rex Engine Turned On. For Several Minutes, The Car Drove Normally And Kept Pace With Moderate Traffic In The Slow Lane. The Speed Limit On Highway 17 Varies From 50mph To 65mph. On The Hilly Parts, It Is A Two Lane Highway With No Shoulder On Either Side, Infrequent Exits And Occasional Turn-outs. Without Any Warning From The Car, I Experienced A Sudden And Dramatic Reduction In power, With The Car Slowing From Approximately 50mph To 25mph Even Under Full Throttle. I Turned On My Hazard Blinkers As Approaching Cars Honked And Swerved To Avoid Us. With No Shoulders, We Had To “limp” To The Next Turnout. This Was Extremely Alarming And Potentially Dangerous. We Realized That Engine Was Running Loudly And We Surmised That It Was Recharging The Battery. After A Couple Of Minutes, I Confirmed That power Was Restored By Briefly Accelerating In The Long Turn-out. I Then Attempted To Merge Back Onto The Highway. Although Full power Seemed Available Initially, As I Pulled Out Of The Turn-out Into The Slow Lane, The power Dropped Again, Slowing Us From 40mph Back To 25mph. We Again Limped To The Next Turn-out As Cars Avoided Us. Most Shocking Of All, I Spoke With bmw‘s Internal “i Concierge” Product Team Who Informed Me That This Was Normal Operation For This Vehicle. I Learned That The I3 Has A Special Mode To Safely Deal With Hills, But This Was Removed From The Us Car In Order To Maximize California “credits.” Money Trumps Safety.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C54EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in ORINDA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Aug 13, 2014

Power Train Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Troy, MI
Model I3 Hybrid
System Power Train
Speed 0

On August 29, 1:25pm, When I Drove The bmw I3 Car In The Comcast Parking Lot Into A Park Spot, The Vehicle Speed Was Almost Slow Down To Zero After I Left My Foot From The Accel. Pedal Since The Car Will Slow Down Without Accel. Pedal Pressed. Then, I Pressed The P Button In The Switch Knob As I Did Many Times Over The 700 Miles Experiences In This Car. The Car Was Abruptly Speed Up With A Very Big Torque, I Used By Foot To Press The Brake Pedal. It Didn’t Work. The Car Was In An Around 50-mile-speed (according To An Observer In The Comcast Park Lot) Rushing Forward. It Rushed Over The Concrete-parking-lot-stop-bar, And Then Rushed Over The Parking Lot Curb Into The Small Hill And The Bushes. The Car Was Slowed Down By The Concrete-stop-bar, Then By The Parking Lot Curb, And It Was Finally Stopped By The Bushes To Avoid The Rush To A Road Next To The Bushes. The Whole Accident Was Observed By Many People In The Comcast Parking Lot And A Police Officer Was Called By Them To Process This With A Traffic Ticket Was Issued To Me. The Car Was Recalled By The Dealer To Reflash Almost All The Control Software And To Install Navigation Software The Day Before The Accident And I Just Picked Up The Car In The Morning. The Root Cause Is Still Investigating By The Dealer/bmw. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 715 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C57EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in TROY, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 2 CYLINDERS. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 drive type:RWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 29, 2014

Power Train Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Bell Canyon, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Power Train
Speed 65

bmw Should Immediately Recall Or Warn Drivers Abut The I3 Range Extender Model. Someone Could Be Killed Or Seriously Injured In An Accident Caused By A Deadly Flaw In The Car That I Experienced. Yesterday Morning, The Battery Was Low In power And I Was In Rex Mode And Driving Up The Conejo Grade Returning To La From Santa Barbara. I Was Traveling About 65 Miles Per Hour In The Fast Lane. I Am Not Sure About The Precise Speed Because I Was Driving Into The Sun And The Cruise Control Would Not Operate (see Below). Suddenly, And Without Warning, The Car Lost power. Despite Having My Foot Pressing The Accelerator Down To The Floor, The Car Quickly Dropped Speed. As The Car Dropped Speed All The Way To About 35 Miles Per Hour, I Quickly Moved Over Lane By Lane To The Right Where I Finally Had To Limp Onto The Right Shoulder. Several Cars Moving Up On My Rear Had To Swerve To Avoid Hitting Me. Fortunately, It Was Early In The Morning And Traffic Was Light. Normally, This Stretch Of The Freeway Is Full Of Fast Moving Cars And Trucks. As I Limped To The Top Of The Grade, The Car Regained power And Drove As Usual. Earlier, On The Drive, I Experienced Another Defect In The Car, I Was Driving Along At Sunrise On Cruise Control And When The Sun Came Up The Car Suddenly Turned Off The Cruise Control And Released The Accelerator. I Understand That The Active Cruise Control My Not Function Under Certain Light Conditions. However, The Car Should Warn That It Is No Longer In Active Mode, But Should Continue To Maintain Speed – Not Just Suddenly Turn Off And Release The Accelerator Which At Highway Speed Is Dangerous.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C56EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in BELL CANYON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 2 CYLINDERS. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 drive type:RWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Oct 19, 2014

Power Train Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Saratoga, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Power Train
Speed 10

While In Bumper To Bumper Traffic, On A Smooth Surface Street, We Heard A Pop Or Bang And Immediately An Error Message Was Displayed “drivetrain Malfunction, Pull Over And Stop”. Before I Could Pull Over, The Vehicle Went Into Park While I Was Stopped And Could Not Be Put Into Neutral. I Was In Rush Hour Traffic And Had To Direct Traffic Around Mt Car For 1.5 Hours Before A Tow Truck Arrived, Had I Been On Train Tracks Or In A Higher Speed Section Of Road, I Could Have Been In A Dangerous Situation. This Failure Mode Must Be Corrected For Me To Want To Keep The Car. A Driver Must Be Able To Push Their Car Out Of Harms Way If There Is A Malfunction.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C55EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in SARATOGA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Aug 11, 2015

2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Bmw I3 Hybrid, driving a 2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported BmwPower Train problems and defects.

Post Author: bmwproblem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>