2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated Sep 12, 2015.

Bmw I3 Hybrid Engine problems and reviews: 4.

Are you driving a 2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Oceanside, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Engine
Speed 20

Driving On Interstate 5 In Encinitas, The I3 Showed An Electrical Error. Within A Few Minutes, I Get A Slew Of Errors, Battery Can’t Charge, Discharge At High Rate, Drive Train Malfunction….until It Said Idrive System Shutting Down… *tr I Was Barely Able To Get The Car To The Side Of The Freeway Before All Systems Shut Down Completely. 5 Minutes Later, The Car Started, And I Was Able To Take It The Dealer. The Car Has Been At The Dealer Being Diagnosed Since (approximately 2 Weeks). They Have Replaced The 12v Battery And The Eme.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C55EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in OCEANSIDE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 2 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

June 12, 2014

Engine Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Orinda, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Engine
Speed 50

I Was Driving My bmw I3 Rex From The San Francisco Bay Area To The Beach Near Santa Cruz Via Highway 17 With My Wife And Two Children. Getting To The Beach From Most Of The Sf Bay Area Requires Driving Over Some Coastal Hills. As I Approached The Hills, My Ev Battery Was Very Low. The I3 With “rex” (similar To The Chevy Volt) Has A Gasoline Engine That Activates When The Main Ev Battery Is Depleted. In These Hills, The Rex Engine Turned On. For Several Minutes, The Car Drove Normally And Kept Pace With Moderate Traffic In The Slow Lane. The Speed Limit On Highway 17 Varies From 50mph To 65mph. On The Hilly Parts, It Is A Two Lane Highway With No Shoulder On Either Side, Infrequent Exits And Occasional Turn-outs. Without Any Warning From The Car, I Experienced A Sudden And Dramatic Reduction In Power, With The Car Slowing From Approximately 50mph To 25mph Even Under Full Throttle. I Turned On My Hazard Blinkers As Approaching Cars Honked And Swerved To Avoid Us. With No Shoulders, We Had To “limp” To The Next Turnout. This Was Extremely Alarming And Potentially Dangerous. We Realized That Engine Was Running Loudly And We Surmised That It Was Recharging The Battery. After A Couple Of Minutes, I Confirmed That Power Was Restored By Briefly Accelerating In The Long Turn-out. I Then Attempted To Merge Back Onto The Highway. Although Full Power Seemed Available Initially, As I Pulled Out Of The Turn-out Into The Slow Lane, The Power Dropped Again, Slowing Us From 40mph Back To 25mph. We Again Limped To The Next Turn-out As Cars Avoided Us. Most Shocking Of All, I Spoke With bmw‘s Internal “i Concierge” Product Team Who Informed Me That This Was Normal Operation For This Vehicle. I Learned That The I3 Has A Special Mode To Safely Deal With Hills, But This Was Removed From The Us Car In Order To Maximize California “credits.” Money Trumps Safety.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C54EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in ORINDA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Aug 13, 2014

Engine Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Bell Canyon, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Engine
Speed 65

bmw Should Immediately Recall Or Warn Drivers Abut The I3 Range Extender Model. Someone Could Be Killed Or Seriously Injured In An Accident Caused By A Deadly Flaw In The Car That I Experienced. Yesterday Morning, The Battery Was Low In Power And I Was In Rex Mode And Driving Up The Conejo Grade Returning To La From Santa Barbara. I Was Traveling About 65 Miles Per Hour In The Fast Lane. I Am Not Sure About The Precise Speed Because I Was Driving Into The Sun And The Cruise Control Would Not Operate (see Below). Suddenly, And Without Warning, The Car Lost Power. Despite Having My Foot Pressing The Accelerator Down To The Floor, The Car Quickly Dropped Speed. As The Car Dropped Speed All The Way To About 35 Miles Per Hour, I Quickly Moved Over Lane By Lane To The Right Where I Finally Had To Limp Onto The Right Shoulder. Several Cars Moving Up On My Rear Had To Swerve To Avoid Hitting Me. Fortunately, It Was Early In The Morning And Traffic Was Light. Normally, This Stretch Of The Freeway Is Full Of Fast Moving Cars And Trucks. As I Limped To The Top Of The Grade, The Car Regained Power And Drove As Usual. Earlier, On The Drive, I Experienced Another Defect In The Car, I Was Driving Along At Sunrise On Cruise Control And When The Sun Came Up The Car Suddenly Turned Off The Cruise Control And Released The Accelerator. I Understand That The Active Cruise Control My Not Function Under Certain Light Conditions. However, The Car Should Warn That It Is No Longer In Active Mode, But Should Continue To Maintain Speed – Not Just Suddenly Turn Off And Release The Accelerator Which At Highway Speed Is Dangerous.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C56EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in BELL CANYON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 2 CYLINDERS. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 drive type:RWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Oct 19, 2014

Engine Bmw 2014
Bmw
Location
Porter Ranch, CA
Model I3 Hybrid
System Engine
Speed 65

I Bought bmw I-3 In 9/14. It Ran Fine Until Last Weekend In Nov. On Sat. 11/29/14 We Were Driving On I-5 North At About Gorman Exit Car Went On Gas Extender And All Of Sudden Speed Dropped From 60-65 Miles To 30 Miles And Below And Will Not Go Faster Than That On Freeway Despite Me Flooring The Gas Pedal. We Took Next Exit Of Frazier Park Driving In Right Most Lane With Hazard Lights On And All The Way Upto Pine Mountain Club Same Thing Happened. We Charged The Car Overnight To Full Capacity And Drove Back To Porter Ranch Next Day. I Went To My Work On 11/30/14 Later In Afternoon And Coming Back From Panorama City To Porter Ranch Again Car Came On Gas This Time At The Ramp From I-405 North Merge With 118 West And This Time Car Completely Stopped On The Ramp It Was At About 3.45 Pm It Was Raining In The Valley. I Was So Afraid That Somebody Will Hit Me From Back. Fortunately Enough After Long-long Few Minutes I Was Able To Start My Car And Took Next Exit On 118 West (hayvenhurst) And Drove Back Home On Street With Hazard Lights On In The Rain. Seems, Car Going On Gas Extender On Freeway Is A”death Trap”. I Donot Remember Any Body Warning Us Of That Prior To Purchase Of This Vehicle. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBY1Z4C54EV. Bmw I3 Hybrid 2014 problem was reported in PORTER RANCH, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 2 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Nov 29, 2014

2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Bmw I3 Hybrid, driving a 2014 Bmw I3 Hybrid, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported BmwEngine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>